An exciting day!

It’s not yet lunch time here in Koné but I have already had a full day! We were up early, 5:30  and ready to take on the day. First order of business was taking apart the crib I bought yesterday, moving it into the room and reassembling it. In it went and I was so happy! I told Keith that was one of the only things since we arrived I worried about, Seth sleeping in a pack n play. Well problem solved! Keith left for work early and Seth and I amused ourselves by rearranging furniture and finally organising his room. 

Second on the agenda was a trip to the bank. I won’t bore you with the details but lets just say it was wonderful to have someone at the bank be so kind and helpful! 

My next stop was the biggest excitement of the day. The grand opening of the new Koné discount. The parking lot was full! People were standing with their cars waiting. I approached the security guard, the store was only opening at 10 am! It was barely 9:30. So off we went for quick coffee and returned. I wish that I could have experienced the excitement of the locals and the expats who have been here for a while. They were dazzled! Christmas had come early. I was excited too but I have not been here long enough to experience the true excitement. I purchased lots of goodies and I am sure I will return again tomorrow.

I don’t know what it is about this place, but everyday I like it more and more. It’s not at all what I expected, it’s so much better. I love the welcoming people, the weather and the idea that sometimes less is more.  I guess this island is starting to feel like home!

One thought on “An exciting day!

  1. I’m glad to hear you are having fun and starting to settle in! Things like getting your child in a good bed, organizing things at home, and a new discount store always help a girl feel good about the world!

Leave a Reply

