Two month crash

Whenever we arrived people warned us of the two month crash. Some said three, others two, but they all said this time would come. I can’t explain it properly. It is, I guess the time when you realise that this is now your life. You are not on a holiday, the everything is new has worn off and you realise that you are here to stay.

Well, I do believe this week the crash has arrived, right on time. Eight weeks on the dot! There is really nothing different. I think it’s the fact that the shine has dulled. You start think about how simple it was to go to one grocery store and buy everything or you think of how you used to be able to purchase things online. You remember your favourite TV shows or your old routine and of course you start to miss your friends and family.

As I told Keith this morning, there is nothing really wrong but nothing feels right. I can communicate in French well, but it’s just not the same, I can make the same meals, but they taste just a bit different. I can watch the slingbox, but the shows are at the wrong time. Everything is just a bit off. But being told about this I have prepared myself a mental list of great things to help push me through this lull. So here are the top ten best things about moving to New Caledonia!

1. Meeting new friends

2. Pushing myself out of my comfort zone

3. Being a stay at home mom!

4. Keith having a great job

5. Beautiful weather

6. Beaches, beaches, beaches

7. Eating supper on the patio every night

8. Fresh pineapple, mangoes and watermelon

9. Taking the time to read books again

10. Realising that slowing down allows you to see the little pleasures in life.

I feel better already! Nobody said moving 15 000 kms from home would be easy. I knew there would be ups and downs. And as of right now the ups definitely out weigh the downs. So tonight I will sit outside, stare at the thousands of stars and be thankful for where we are and what we have.

2 thoughts on “Two month crash

  1. Hi Kathryn!
    I love reading your blog! Here are some tips to get through the crash periods:

    Set a date for the trip home. Even if it is months away, it is a goal to look forward to.

    Remember, being a stay at home Mom doesn’t mean you have it easy.

    Get out everyday and do something. If you’re lucky to even make one Mommy friend that is home too, this helps as well.

    Chai Tea is good for the soul and wonderfully relaxing. Take an hour to yourself each day.

    Plan an evening with friends. You need to talk about something other than the mines and Thomas the Train 🙂

    Most importantly, 2 months down, 22 more to go. Time does pass quickly!

  2. Hi Kathryn! I love reading your blogs, too. You are doing something that most people only dream about! I think it is great that you’ve met some nice friends with the same interests. Although it may not seem like it right at this moment, Time really does pass quickly and before you know it, you’ll be saying au revoir to New Caledonia. Keep enjoying this special time in your life!
    Chantal

Leave a Reply

