Food, food and more food

Lately all that I seem to do is bake or cook. Now if you know me at all, you know that I am not a baker. I don’t enjoy baking at all. I see people making these fantastic cakes and all I can think is, never! Even when I started going places for visits or play groups everyone baked and I though to myself, never! But someone wise once said, never say never and they were right! Don’t get me wrong I still don’t see myself making a three tiered cake with fondant but I have started baking.
Baking has always been troubling for me for two reasons, first exact measurements and I tend not to read the entire recipe to the end. I will say I have improved and I now have flour, yeast, gelatine, sugar, baking powder, baking soda always on hand. Mind you most of my recipes are hit or miss and most are from me typing ‘easy cookies’ into Google or Pinterest. My grade 7 home economics class has come in handy a few times. Converting from imperial to metric and how many tbsp are in a cup etc. Mrs. Mersereau would be proud of my peanut butter measuring technique.
Then just when you finish up your baking for the day you realise it’s almost supper time! What to make? Well at first I tried to recreate many of the meals we had at home but due to lack of some ingredients we have started to make those recipes less often and cook more of what is available. And what is available you ask? Well every store here is like a mini Asian grocer. I remember searching high and low for ingredients in Bathurst to no avail. No problem here! There are literally 20 types of soy sauce ( I counted), there are many types of noodles and rice, rice paper and nori and chilies and sauces. So I have been experimenting, Korean BBQ,beef teriyaki, shrimp tempura and more. And boy is it good!
So I guess the lesson learned is to never say never! Embrace what is available around you, you just never know what you might stumble upon.

Easy Peanut Butter Cookies
1 cup of PB
1 cup of sugar
1 tsp of baking soda
1 egg
Preheat oven to 325. Cream sugar and egg, add pb and baking soda. Stir. Roll into 1 inch balls, place on parchment lined cookie sheet bake 6-8 mins. Remove allow to cool on the tray until they harden slightly. Then transfer to wire rack.
Ta da!

Easy Korean BBQ ( I added more garlic and a little less sugar)

20130604-093306.jpg

Leave a Reply

