Packing for the long flight

In April 2012 Keith, Seth and I flew to North Carolina to visit some friends. If you would have spoken to me in the days before I left, I was in a tizzy trying to figure out what to pack for a carryon, how Seth would be on the flight and how it would all go down. Needless to say it all went down without a hitch. Each flight was no longer that 3 hours!
Then again, last November as we packed all our life into several suitcases I worried about the length of the flight, what to pack in my carryon and how it would go down. Again, I overpacked the carryon, never using half of the stuff. And once again, Seth was overall great with just a few bumps in the road.
Eight months later and it’s time to pack up again for our long awaited vacation. Only this time I am doing what I said I would never do, fly to Canada alone with Seth. I thought, it would really be just too difficult but as time passes and as you we mature (yes, we) I have decided to suck it up and go for it.
Thus begins the job of packing. Lets just say I have learned a few tricks along the way. The new motto is ‘Less is more’. One carryon (that houses both our necessities) and one checked bag and after some back and forth the umbrella stroller. Thats it! No purse, no baby bag! It will be important that I can handle the luggage myself when going through customs, changing airlines and so on. The great thing about living within such a great community of expat moms is the experiences they have lived through. Any questions? Just ask the vets!
So, I bet you are wondering what is going in that carryon? So here it is
1. Documents-passports, visas, travelling alone without the other parent letter
2. Diapers and wipes-I pack approximately one for every hour of travel. Now, I know this sounds like a lot but what happens if you child gets diarrhoea? Do you want to be the mom with no diapers left? No thanks!
3. iPad- now I know that not everyone owns an iPad but a DS or tablet or anything that can keep them entertained is essential at this toddler age. What happens if the inflight entertainment system goes down? I am not willing to find out, so we have puzzles, books and movies downloaded and ready.
4. For long haul/multiple flights I pack 2 pairs of pyjamas and one change of clothes.
5. Change of clothes for mom-again my more experienced moms have some yucky stories…you need a change of clothes!
6. Tylenol, Advil and Benadryl for baby boo. Better safe than sorry!
7. 1 each of a cup, bottle and bib
8. A plastic bag, in case you have a sick child…you can throw it out or rinse it off and toss it in the bag!
9. One comfort item, for Seth it’s his blankie. I will pack two because I have the room!
10. A good attitude. We will be 50hrs from first wheels up to landing in our destination. At some point my 22 month old is go to have a meltdown. It’s inevitable, it’s normal and it’s to be expected…I get tired too, and I am an adult! The thing is that every parent understands. If they have travelled with their children they know. And if they don’t get it, guess what, you will probably never see them again!
I will let you know how it goes!

20130716-081731.jpg

Leave a Reply

