Coming Home

Well after a hiatus from the blog, I am back with all kinds of things to discuss. Our newest bundle of joy arrived on May 27th at 3am. He weighed 6lbs 7oz or 3 kgs and was 18 inches or 50 cm long. We named him Theo Mack. Big brother Seth couldn’t be prouder and Mom and Dad are smitten.
I will tell you all about the actual process of having this baby here on the island another day. For now, I have too much joy to express and not much time for the French paperwork. We arrived home after four long days in the hospital. I was so grateful to have Keith coordinating our family on the outside while I remained in ‘jail’. He continues to be such a wonderful husband and father. He knows how to calm me, encourage me and I am so grateful for him. Having a baby in a foreign country led us to moments of doubt but we found our way through it together. I am so thankful to have such a wonderful partner.
Then there is my sister Jane aka Mimi. Jane has been indispensable taking care of Seth. From building forts, jumping on the trampoline and playing trains, Mimi has kept Seth’s life as normal as possible. She has also polished my house from top to bottom. I am so thankful to have her here. I only wish I could have shown her more of New Cal.
Then there are my friends. My friends of old who sent me emails, texts messages and love from the other side of the world. Although they were far in kilometres they were close at heart. And my new friends, the United Nations of moms here in Koné, who picked up Seth, visited, called and texted. They were our family when ours was so far.
Of course my gratitude does not escape our families who supported us through the last nine months. From sending things in the mail, to calls and prayers. We are so blessed with your love. Maybe my mom can give her rosary a rest for a bit.
So we are home. It’s quite calm. I look at our two boys, I am in awe. We are a family of four! How did that happen? My heart is full and although I am admittedly a bit tired, I feel so alive. I look forward to the next few weeks of snuggles and quiet nighttime feedings. We really are very blessed.

20140601-125640.jpg

20140601-125801.jpg

20140601-125840.jpg

Leave a Reply

