Are you still writing the blog?

Once upon a time in a land far away called New Caledonia, there lived a girl who was from, the far away land of Canada. Everything in this new far away land was new and different.
Fast forward 3 years. Yes, I said 3! In a mere few weeks it will 3 years since we landed. I will never forget that moment as long as I live. The beauty, our fears, the heat, the excitement, the heat. During those first few months I could have written a blog every day, everything was new and exciting. Now, we are the old veteran expats around town. No longer do I ask people where to find stuff, how to do things or who to talk to. I am the one (along with a handful of others) that have the inside scoop. I used to attend the going away parties and be the new girl. Now,  I host the going away parties. I feel like I’ve lived here forever, yet I still feel like I just arrived. 

As time ticks by, I feel torn in two directions. First, I feel like time is slipping away, I only have a limited time to finish the list we made 3 years ago today. It included travel and lots of it. It looked like this;

  • New Zealand
  • Australia 
  • Fiji
  • Île de Pins

Then about 6 months after arriving it looked like this;

  • New Zealand South Island
  • New Zealand North Island
  • Australia (Sydney & Brisbane)
  • Fiji
  • Île de Pins
  • Bali
  • Vanuatu 
  • Ouvéa

And now it looks like this; 

  • NZ North Island ✔️
  • NZ South Island ✔️✔️ 
  • Australia ✔️✔️✔️✔️
  • Bali ✔️
  • Fiji
  • Île de Pins ✔️
  • Tahiti
  • Ouvéa
  • Singapore

I don’t think it will all get ticked off but a girl has to have dreams, right?

Second, I feel the sense of getting closer to the finish line than the starting line. I think of the days I yearned for home and questioned why we ever left. Yet, now, somehow, without me realizing it, this is home. I can’t imagine taking our kids away from the only place they have ever known. I get teary eyed on flights imagining looking down at the turquoise lagoon for the last time and saying goodbye. And where will that plane be taking us? Will we be as happy? Will the ease and familiarity of home be all I’ve chalked it up to be? Is Canada really that great?

But, if New Caledonia has taught me anything, it’s live in the moment. If it’s sunny, enjoy the sun. If it’s raining, have a nap, if they have avocado then make sushi! So, the blog is not over, I am still writing and I feel like the next few months I will have more stories to tell you, so until then just remember, you still have time to come visit! 

Check out this video, this is our New Cal

Leave a Reply

